Expo Fairy Godmother

Reviews of products sold at expos and more by an average runner. Make me your guinea pig!

Power Crunch

Power Crunch 

Triple Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fudge

Triple Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fudge

Product Type: Food

I first saw these bars at the Tinker Bell Half Marathon Expo in Anaheim, CA. They were available as free samples from a friendly representative. Once I tried a piece, I immediately wanted to buy an entire box of them. I’ve grown to expect a certain level of chalky taste for any food or supplement with added protein, but I really couldn’t taste it in the Power Crunch bars. The outer layer of chocolate was smooth and creamy, if a bit thin. The wafers were sweet and crunchy. According to the company representative, the peanut butter flavored cream is where they hide the whey protein. Overall the bar tastes more like a regular candy bar than a protein bar.

I ate one of the Peanut Butter Fudge or Triple Chocolate bars after my long runs to help get protein into my leg muscles for a month. Recently, I’ve started munching one in the afternoons before I start my hour or longer commute home. I’ve even grabbed one when I had a sweet craving to prevent me from digging into ice cream, cookies, or something else with more calories. I’ve also tried the Cookies and Crème and Wildberry Crème bars, but my local Trader Joe’s doesn’t stock them on a regular basis. The added protein stays with me longer.

Where do I find them? In the Southern California area, you can find them at Trader Joe’s and Ralph’s. You’ll need to check the company web site to locate the nearest store which carries them for other areas of the country. I also ordered a box of them through Amazon, but I learned only to do that in cold months as they would sit in the sun until I got home from work. The melted and reformed bars tasted fine, but more of the chocolate flaked off. I don’t waste chocolate!
Overall: This isn’t the lowest calorie snack I have, but the protein content helps me feel full. I also felt better after long runs. It tastes like a regular candy bar, but fewer calories than most of them.

Nutrition: Peanut Butter Fudge bar.

200 calories per bar

Fat 12g

Potassium 125mg

Total Carbs 10g

Sugars 5g

Protein 13g

Where can I get one? http://www.powercrunch.com/ or http://www.amazon.com/Power-Crunch-Triple-Chocolate-1-4-Ounce/dp/B000FRUMBK/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1424030169&sr=8-5&keywords=power+crunch+protein+bars

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2015 by in food, protein, TinkerBell and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

Follow Expo Fairy Godmother on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

