Expo Fairy Godmother

Reviews of products sold at expos and more by an average runner. Make me your guinea pig!

Chic Buds Slim Power Phone Charger

Ah, smart phones! Love them or hate them, it’s hard to run your life without them. Runners have a special connection to their smart phones. We use them for music, camera to document those extra amazing runs, GPS tracking apps of all stripes, and as a method to contact the rest of our groups once we’ve crossed the finish line and are ready for a breakfast burrito. So, how do we manage to keep all those awesome apps running and end up with battery life left over for other things?

At the 2015 Tinker Bell Half Marathon expo, I encountered a company called Chic Buds. The sales rep told me the company plans to market primarily towards women. With that in mind, I bought a couple of their products to try out. I’m really excited to test their phone charger.

The first thing I noticed is that all of their chargers have cute designs. They’re specifically printed with cheerful, colorful prints and patterns. Is that a little sexist? Maybe, since I believe that men can appreciate nice colors and prints as well as women.

Once I picked it up, I noticed that it’s significantly lighter than other phone chargers I’ve owned. It’s about the size of a credit card, but it weighs so little that I wouldn’t notice it in a pocket. Seriously, the charging cable is heavier than the battery.

Another nice feature I liked was the external light meter showing how charged it is. A lot of extra batteries lack this option. So, how do you know when they’re fully charged? It makes so much sense that I’m surprised they make any batteries without them.slim_power_chelsea_1_2

Don’t get me wrong, this won’t be a good replacement for a heavy-duty charger you spent lots of money on. I get one good charge from my Chic Buds battery, but that’s all I usually need for my phone after using GPS, Run Keeper, Charity Miles, and Zombies, Run! for a few hours. I tried charging a friend’s phone after mine. It lasted a few percent, and died.

Overall: For the $25 price tag, I plan to buy a replacement battery when my current one eventually dies out. It’s cheap and light for an affordable price.

Where can I buy them? If you don’t see them at your local expo, you can buy them online at Chic Buds.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2016 by in Gadgets and Tech and tagged , , , , , .
Follow Expo Fairy Godmother on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

